Help Fight the Fitness Tax
May 28 2014

Help Fight the Fitness Tax

The fitness tax is back. Under a budget proposal forged by Chairman Phil Mendelson (D) that will get an initial council vote today Wednesday, health clubs would be among the businesses now required to start collecting sales tax starting Jan. 1, 2015. The proposal was made public Tuesday night, giving council members and the public less than 18 hours to digest the proposal before an initial vote. Under this proposal VIDA Members will start paying a 5.75 percent sales tax on her class starting Jan. 1.

This will likely result in an increased cost in fitness-related services across the board.

If you’d like to voice your concerns to the Council Members, we’ve provided contact information below.

Chairmen Phil Mendelson:
(202) 724-8032
pmendelson@dccouncil.us

Jack Evans:
(202) 724-8058
jackevans@dccouncil.us

David Cantania
(202) 724-7772
dcatania@dccouncil.us

Kenyan McDuffie:
(202) 724-8028
kmcduffie@dccouncil.us

Anita Bonds:
abonds@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8064

Jim Graham:
(202) 724-8181
jgraham@dccouncil.us

Mary Cheh:
(202) 724-8062
mcheh@dccouncil.us

Muriel Bowser:
mbowser@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8052

David Grosso:
(202) 724-8105
hthomas@dccouncil.us

Tommy Wells:
(202) 724-8072
twells@dccouncil.us

Yvette Alexander:
(202) 724-8068
yalexander@dccouncil.us

Marion Barry:
(202) 724-8045
mbarry@dccouncil.us

Vincent Orange
vorange@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8174